International Wine Challenge

Background and contacts

About International Wine Challenge

The International Wine Challenge (IWC) owned by William Reed Business Media is now in its 35th year. The IWC is accepted as the world's finest and most meticulously judged wine competition which assesses every wine blind and judges each for its faithfulness to style, region and vintage Throughout the rigorous judging processes, each medal winning wine is tasted on three separate occasions by at least 10 different judges and awards include medals (Gold, Silver, Bronze) and Commended awards

About The Digital Newsroom

The International Wine Challenge Digital Newsroom is a simple and useful resource for you to keep track of all the latest news stories. High resolution images and complete press releases are available to download from here, and you can connect with our various social media profiles easily. Suggestions for improvements are welcome.

Contact Details

Elly Barham-Marsh Helen Kenny
Manifest London
t. +44 (0)203 1379 270

International Wine Challenge

World Cup Finals: International Wine Challenge announces shortlist for Champion wines for 2014

EMBARGO 11:00 GMT 14/05/14

Finalists announced for top prizes at 31st annual International Wine Challenge

Following the announcement of the International Wine Challenge 2014 trophy winners today, the competition can now reveal the shortlist for Champion wines of the Year. Champion status will be awarded to one Red, White, Sparkling, Fortified and Sweet wine from the thousands of entrants at the IWC Awards Dinner on Wednesday 16th July.

Each wine shortlisted has been awarded a national trophy by the competition, meaning the panel of world-renowned wine judges have judged it to be the best wine in that category for the country.


Charles Metcalfe, Co-Chairman of the IWC commented:

“Choosing our Champion wines is the highlight of the competition. We’ve tasted thousands of wines and now have our shortlist for Champions across each different category. The shortlist consists of some exquisite examples from all around the world competing against each other: the global nature of the competition is what makes the International Wine Challenge so special.

The following wines are shortlisted for the Champion wine Awards:

Champion White

  • Amalaya Blanco de Corte 2013 by Bodega Amalaya (Argentina)
  • Robert Bowen 2011 by Domaines & Vineyards (Australia)
  • Riesling Leiten Kremstal DAC Reserve 2012 by Weingut Müller (Austria)
  • Cono Sur Reserva Especial Sauvignon Blanc 2013 by Viña Cono Sur S.A. (Chile)
  • Santa Lucia Malvazija 2006 by Kozlovic Winery (Croatia)
  • Corton Charlemagne Grand Cru 2011 by Domaine de la Vougeraie (France)
  • Escherndorf am Lumpen Riesling GG 2012 by Weingut Horst Sauer (Germany)
  • Sigalas Aidani 2013 by Sigalas Gasparis (Greece)
  • Tokaji Szamorodni 2007 by Obzidián Bormanufaktúra (Hungary)
  • La Rocca 2011 by Soc. Agr. Pieropan (Italy)
  • Pask Declaration Chardonnay 2012 by Pask Winery (New Zealand)
  • Campolargo 2011 by Manuel dos Santos Campolargo, Herdeiros (Portugal)
  • Constantia Glen TWO 2013 by Constantia Glen (South Africa)
  • Altos de Torona 2013 by Bodegas Altos De Torona (Spain)

Champion Red

  • Unánime 2009 by Bodegas Santa Ana (Argentina)
  • Shiraz  2012 by Shaw + Smith (Austalia)
  • Quintessential 2011by Church & State Wines (Canada)
  • Terroir Hunter Syrah Leyda 2011 by Viña Undurraga (Chile)
  • Clos de la Roche Grand Cru 2012 by Jean Claude Boisset (France)
  • Campolongo di Torbe Amarone Classico della Valpolicella 2007 by Masi (Italy)
  • Crossroads Winemakers Collection Syrah 2012 by Yealands Wine Group (New Zealand)
  • Quinta dos Roques 2011 by Quinta dos Roques (Portugal)
  • Saronsberg Shiraz 2011 by Saronsberg Cellar (South Africa)
  • El Meson Gran Reserva 2004 by El Coto de Rioja (Spain)

Champion Sparkling

  • Grand Vintage 2004 by House Of Arras (Austalia)
  • Nyetimber Classic Cuvée 2009 by Nyetimber (England)
  • Piper-Heidsieck Rare Millésimé 2002 by Piper-Heidsieck (France)
  • Vittorio Moretti  2006 by Bellavista (Italy)
  • AA Privat Laietà Gran Reserva Brut Nature 2010 by Alta Alella (Spain)

Champion Sweet

  • Gelber Muskateller Schilfwein 2008 by Hans Tschida (Austria)
  • Riesling Icewine 2012 by Inniskillin (Canada)
  • Escherndorfer Lump Riesling Trockenbeerenauslese 2012 by Weingut Horst Sauer (Germany)
  • Royal Tokaji 5 puttonyos Aszú 2009 by Royal Tokaji Borászati Zrt (Hungary)
  • Solone Colli Euganei Fior d’Arancio Passito  2008 by Fattoria Monte Fasolo (Italy)
  • Vin de Constance 2008 by Klein Constantia Estate (South Africa)

Champion Fortified

  • Morris Old Premium Rare Liqueur Tokay NV by Morris Wines (Australia)
  • 30 Year Old Aged Tawny by Graham’s (Portugal)
  • Justino’s Madeira Verdelho 1934 by Justinos, Madeira Wines, S.A. (Portugal)
  • Palo Cortado 20 Year Old Solera Especial by Williams & Humbert (Spain)

Visit the IWC website for the full list of winners:

Scroll down to view full press release

Attached Files