International Wine Challenge

Background and contacts

About International Wine Challenge

The International Wine Challenge (IWC) owned by William Reed Business Media is now in its 35th year. The IWC is accepted as the world's finest and most meticulously judged wine competition which assesses every wine blind and judges each for its faithfulness to style, region and vintage Throughout the rigorous judging processes, each medal winning wine is tasted on three separate occasions by at least 10 different judges and awards include medals (Gold, Silver, Bronze) and Commended awards

About The Digital Newsroom

The International Wine Challenge Digital Newsroom is a simple and useful resource for you to keep track of all the latest news stories. High resolution images and complete press releases are available to download from here, and you can connect with our various social media profiles easily. Suggestions for improvements are welcome.

Contact Details

Elly Barham-Marsh Helen Kenny
Manifest London
t. +44 (0)203 1379 270

International Wine Challenge

Top prizes down under: Australia picks up 19 trophies at International Wine Challenge

EMBARGO 11:00 GMT 14/05/14

19 Australian wines wow judges and are awarded trophies by the prestigious wine competition

Australian wines have picked up a host of trophies at the International Wine Challenge 2014 following immense success at the competition where Australian wines were awarded a total of 890 medals.

  • National trophies were awarded across Red, White, Sparkling and Fortified styles.
  • The 2012 Shiraz from Shaw + Smith was awarded Australian Red Trophy and the Robert Bowen 2011 Chardonnay produced by Domaines & Vineyards received the Australian White trophy.
  • The prize for Australian Fortified Trophy went to the Morris Old Premium Rare Liqueur Tokay NV Muscat. The Tasmanian based House of Arras was awarded Australian Sparkling wine trophy for its 2004 Grand Vintage.
  • Thirteen Australian reds picked up trophies, with seven of those being made from Shiraz.
  • Wine producers Wynns Coonawarra Estate received two trophies at the competition. Wynns Black Label Shiraz 2010 received the South Australia Shiraz trophy and the Wynns Coonawarra Estate Riddoch Cabernet Sauvignon 2010 received the Australian Cabernet trophy.
  • In an International Wine Challenge first, an Australian Sparkling Red was singled out for a trophy. The Sparkling Squid Ink NV Sparkling Shiraz dazzled the judges.
  • Australian Whites also impressed the judges at the competition with six being awarded trophies across a variety of styles. The McGuigan Shortlist 2007 received the trophy for Australian Semillon. The Australian Riesling trophy was awarded to the Pewsey Vale The Contours Museum Reserve 2003.
  • The Champion wines will be chosen from the national trophy winners across Red, White, Sparkling, Fortified and Sweet. The results will be announced at the International Wine Challenge Awards Dinner on Wednesday 16th July at Grosvenor House Hotel, Park Lane, London.
  • Visit the IWC website for the full list of winners:


Charles Metcalfe, Co-Chairman of the IWC commented:

“Selecting our trophy winners is always a tough but hugely enjoyable part of the competition. There is always plenty of debate amongst the judges. However, one thing we all agreed on was that the trophy winners this year are truly exquisite. It is wonderful to see Australian winemakers thrive across a variety of styles.”

Charles continued:

“The International Wine Challenge is committed to rigorous and fair tasting and has subsequently earned its reputation as the most well-respected wine competition in the world. By hosting two separate tasting events across the year, wines are given the best chance to perform well, wherever they’re from.”

“If a shopper sees an IWC medal sticker on a bottle of wine, its quality can be trusted, as it has been selected by some of the world’s best tasters. Whether you are a wine novice or an experienced wine-drinker, our stickers can help you find a great wine every time,” he added.

Scroll down for full press release including complete list of Australian trophy winners

Attached Files