International Wine Challenge

Background and contacts

About International Wine Challenge

The International Wine Challenge (IWC) owned by William Reed Business Media is now in its 35th year. The IWC is accepted as the world's finest and most meticulously judged wine competition which assesses every wine blind and judges each for its faithfulness to style, region and vintage Throughout the rigorous judging processes, each medal winning wine is tasted on three separate occasions by at least 10 different judges and awards include medals (Gold, Silver, Bronze) and Commended awards

About The Digital Newsroom

The International Wine Challenge Digital Newsroom is a simple and useful resource for you to keep track of all the latest news stories. High resolution images and complete press releases are available to download from here, and you can connect with our various social media profiles easily. Suggestions for improvements are welcome.

Contact Details

Elly Barham-Marsh Helen Kenny
Manifest London
t. +44 (0)203 1379 270

International Wine Challenge

Aussie Gold Rush: ‘Phenomenal’ Australian wines secure top medal wins at International Wine Challenge Tranche One

Under embargo till 11am 30/11/2017

Australia among the top three countries at Tranche One of IWC 2018, collecting 15 Gold, 78 Silver and 91 Bronze medals

Australian wines captivated at Tranche One of the International Wine Challenge 2018 with 184 medals awarded to entries from down under. This stellar performance by the country’s winemakers saw Australia named in the top three of the medal chart for its impressive medal haul, including 15 Gold, 78 Silver, and 91 Bronze medals. A range of still and fortified wines including Shiraz, Chardonnay, Riesling and Cabernet Sauvignon were awarded Gold medals, demonstrating the nation’s impressively versatile wine industry.

  •  South Australia produced the lion’s share of the Gold medals, with eight winners grown in the region. Shiraz was its most successful variety, with four 95 point Golds awarded to this iconic Australian red wine style. These included The Gate McLaren Vale Shiraz 2015 by Shingleback Wine, Squid Ink Shiraz 2016 by McLaren Vale III Associates, The Hedonist Shiraz 2016 by Hedonist Wines, and Kangaroo Island Shiraz 2015 by Momentum Wines. Beresford Classic McLaren Vale Cabernet Sauvignon 2016 (95 points) secured a fifth Gold medal for the region in the red wine category.
  • South Australian producers had further success in the white wine category, with three 95 point Gold medals awarded to Riesling and Chardonnay entries. Fans of Riesling will be hard pushed to beat Dandelion Vineyards Wonderland of the Eden Valley Riesling 2017 or O’Leary Walker Wines Polish Hill River Riesling 2012, both of which struck Gold at the competition. A final Gold was awarded to South Australia for the Shottesbrooke Single Vineyard Series ‘Adelaide Hills’ Chardonnay 2016 which was an instant hit with the IWC judging panel.
  • With three 96 point Gold medal winners, Victoria was the second most successful region down under. Its top scorers included two Gold medal-winning fortified wines. Made using Brown Muscat grapes, both the All Saints Estate Rutherglen Muscat NV and the All Saints Rare Rutherglen Muscat charmed the judges and secured them a Gold medal each. Victoria’s Taltarni Vineyards also scooped up a Gold medal, with its Taltarni Estate Shiraz 2015.
  • Australia’s island state of Tasmania proved to have the perfect terroir for growing white wine, striking 95 point Gold with two of its entries. This island famed for its natural beauty continues to cement its position as a wine-making mecca, with the Tamar Ridge Riesling 2016 and the Tolpuddle Vineyard Chardonnay 2016 both awarded Gold medals.
  • New South Wales producer De Bortoli Wines secured a 95 point Gold medal at the competition. Its Show Liqueur Muscat NV made with the Frontignac grape, delighted the judges with its delicious raisin, caramel and toffee-apple palate.
  • The final Gold medal for Australia went to Western Australian producer Domaine Naturaliste for its Domaine Naturaliste Artus 2016. This was one of the highest scoring Gold medals of the competition, garnering 97 points out of 100 from the judging panel.
  • This year, to give consumers a richer understanding of a wine’s ranking, the IWC will be releasing the points score, in addition to the medal awarded. The competition’s most senior judges have given award-winning wines a points score, which is then checked and confirmed by the IWC’s Co-Chairs.


Peter McCombie MW, Co-Chair of the IWC commented:

“Australia has yet again impressed with not only the phenomenal quality of its wines but also the diversity of its top entries. From rich reds to zesty whites and sumptuous fortified wines, our judges discovered Gold medal winners to suit every palate. As the wine trade continues to thrive down under, it is our pleasure to help consumers discover world-class Australian wines and promote its homegrown talent.”

He continued:

“Our new points system will make it even easier for producers to showcase their success and for consumers to get a better understanding of a wine’s quality. It is just one of the ways the IWC is continuing to innovate, improve our already rigorous process and continue to lead as the world’s finest wine competition.”

Attached Files