International Wine Challenge

Background and contacts

About International Wine Challenge

The International Wine Challenge (IWC) owned by William Reed Business Media is now in its 31st year. The IWC is accepted as the world's finest and most meticulously judged wine competition which assesses every wine blind and judges each for its faithfulness to style, region and vintage Throughout the rigorous judging processes, each medal winning wine is tasted on three separate occasions by at least 10 different judges and awards include medals (Gold, Silver, Bronze) and Commended awards

About The Digital Newsroom

The International Wine Challenge Digital Newsroom is a simple and useful resource for you to keep track of all the latest news stories. High resolution images and complete press releases are available to download from here, and you can connect with our various social media profiles easily. Suggestions for improvements are welcome.

Contact Details

Ali Maynard and Helen Kenny
Manifest London
t. +44 (0)203 1379 270

International Wine Challenge

International Wine Challenge Awards 2013 – The Full Results

Champion Wines

  • Sämling Tba 2007, Hans Tschida – Alois Kracher Trophy for Champion Sweet Wine 2013
  • Justino’s Madeira Verdelho 1954, Justino’s, Madeira Wines, S.A. – IWC Champion Fortified Wine 2013
  • Piper-Heidsieck Rare Millésimé 1998, Champagne Piper-Heidsieck Daniel Thibault Trophy for Champion Sparkling Wine 2013
  • McGuigan Bin 9000 2005, Australian Vintage Ltd. – IWC Champion White Wine 2013
  • B2 Pinot Noir 2011, Brennan Wines – IWC Champion Red Wine 2013

Great Value Champions

  • Marks and Spencer Monferrato Chiaretto 2012, Araldica – IWC Great Value Champion Rosé 2013
  • Show Liqueur Muscat NV, De Bortoli Wines Pty Ltd – IWC Great Value Champion Fortified 2013
  • Asda Extra Special Louis Bernard Premier Cru Champagne NV, Maison Burtin – IWC Great Value Champion Sparkling 2013
  • Yalumba Y Series Viognier 2012, Yalumba – IWC Great Value Champion White 2013
  • Errazuriz Max Reserva Syrah 2011, Viña Errazuriz – IWC Great Value Champion Red 2013
  • Tesco Finest Dessert Semillon 2008, De Bortoli Wines Pty Ltd – IWC Great Value Champion Sweet 2013

Champion Sake

  • Daiginjo Gokujo Kitaya 2012, Kitaya Co Ltd – IWC Champion Sake 2013

Winemakers of the Year 2013

  • Manuel Lozano from Emilio Lustau – IWC Fortified Winemaker of the Year 2013
  • Régis Camus from P&C Heidsieck  – IWC Sparkling Winemaker of the Year 2013
  • Neil McGuigan from McGuigan Wines – IWC White Winemaker of the Year 2013
  • Chris Hatcher from Wolf Blass Wines – IWC Red Winemaker of the Year 2013
  • Hans Tschida from Weingut Hans Tschida – IWC Sweet Winemaker of the Year 2013

Trade Awards

  • Boutinot Ltd – IWC Large Agent of the Year 201£
  • Seckford Agencies – IWC Small Agent of the Year 2013
  • Tesco – IWC Direct Merchant of the Year 2013
  • Majestic Wine – IWC High Street Chain of the Year 2013
  • Virgin Wines – IWC Innovator of the Year 2013
  • Cambridge Wine Merchants -IWC Large Independent Merchant of the Year 2013
  • Liberty Wines – IWC On-Trade Supplier of the Year 2013
  • Noel Young Wines – IWC Small Independent Merchant of the Year 2013
  • Marks and Spencer PLC- IWC Supermarket of the Year 2013
  • Armit Wines – IWC Wine List of the Year 2013
  • Majestic Wine- IWC Wine Educator of the Year 2013
  • The Wine Society – IWC Wine Club of the Year 2013
  • The Wine Society – IWC Wine Merchant of the Year 2013
  • Marks and Spencer PLC – IWC Corporate Social Responsibility Award
  • The Big Fortified Tasting – IWC Generic Campaign of the Year 2013

Own Label

  • Tesco- IWC Own Label Range of the Year 2013

Planet Earth Awards

  • Reserve Sauvignon Blanc 2011, Lawson’s Dry Hills – IWC Sustainable Trophy 2013
  • Vougeot 1er Cru 2010, Domaine de la Vougeraie – IWC Organic Trophy 2013
  • Marks and Spencer Montlouis Demi Sec les Tuffeux 2009, François Chidaine – IWC Biodynamic Trophy 2013
  • Raza Reserve Fairtrade Malbec 2011, La Riojana Cooperativa Vitivinifrutícola de la Rioja Ltda – IWC Fairtrade Award 2013

IWC Special Awards

  • Henriques & Henriques – Len Evans Trophy 2013 (for consistency over 5 years)
  • Dona Georgina 2005, Quinta de Lemos, S.A. – James Rogers Trophy 2013 (for best wine in the first year of production)
  • Michael Cox, Master Vintner – IWC Personality of the Year 2013
  • Hugh Johnson OBE –  IWC Lifetime Achievement Award

Attached Files


2017 Champions of the wine world revealed by International Wine Challenge

The 34th International Wine Challenge (IWC) announced its 2017 Champion wines last night at its annual awards dinner. Following an extensive blind-tasting process by the world’s finest wine judges, the IWC revealed the five wines that had beaten thousands of entries to claim this year’s top prizes. This year’s best bubbly and winner of the […]

Read full post

Surrey vineyard named England’s best vineyard experience by International Wine Challenge and VisitEngland

High Clandon Estate Vineyard achieves near-perfect customer experience score to be named IWC Cellar Door of the Year winner The International Wine Challenge (IWC) has today named Surrey’s High Clandon Estate Vineyard its 2017 Cellar Door of the Year winner, the culmination of a new partnership with VisitEngland to uncover England’s best vineyard experience.  Run […]

Read full post